JUNETWELVEONTWELVE

The #photographinghappiness theme this month revolves around food.

My month revolved around soccer and baseball and birthday parties and proms and more birthday parties, leaving little room for foodie-ness.

Instead, this month I have decided to indulge myself in a delicious walk down memory lane. It was actually food photography that led me to become a contributor for Dabble magazine several years ago…a little Quebec brie, a well worn wooden cutting board and some good natural light was enough to give me a chance to travel to France and capture food, wonderful food, from Albi to Honfleur. Fritons de canard, les bulots, coeur de neufchâtel cheese, canard à la rouennaise ( pressed duck ), racine des reglisses…and of course the custom of the trou normand.

So much to learn and so much to photograph. I am by nature rather shy in new situations but within a day, I found myself standing atop a chair in a restaurant in Toulouse, surrounded by amused patrons as I captured a beautifully presented soup…on the floor.

After ten days of extraordinary meals prepared by dedicated and talented chefs, a trip to a five hundred year old wine cellar, a Normandy cooking lesson in Le Havre, dining atop a hill in a medieval village, a renewed appreciation for apples and a love of Calvados and a magical dinner in a Michelin Starred restaurant, I was happily sated.

Well, until the next food adventure appeared. I always have room for just a little bit more.

I do love my food. I hope this comes through in my collection of twelve images this month.

033a1677_34353735116_o

My friend Jen’s home

dabble-does-normandy-15_10751994745_o

L’Ancienne Auberge, Puycelsi, France

dabble-does-normandy-74_15577906451_o

Farmer’s Market, San Diego

dabble-does-normandy-82_16189736598_o

L’Ancienne Auberge, Puycelsi, France

diner_4239850232_o

Mont Tremblant, Quebec

img_2988_7451824378_o

Les Terras Neuvas ( closed ), Fecamp, France

img_3046_12699060373_o

GoldenEye, Jamaica

img_3463_7444898492_o

Le Bistro du Port, Honfleur, France

its-pie-time-again-halloweenukkah_15071177714_o

Made with love

my-kid_9489482627_o

Fairy Floss

pain_8186622566_o

La bete a pain, Ahuntsic, Montreal

yum_4928816725_o

My kitchen, carrot cake

 

Curious about any of the restaurants, dishes or details I mentioned? Here are the links:

L’Ancienne Auberge in Puycelsi, France

Le Bistro du Port in Honfleur, France

La Bete a pain in Ahuntsic, Montreal

GoldenEye in Oracabessa, Jamaica

For pressed duck, La Couronne in Rouen

For Calvados in Pays d’Auge, Normandy, France

 

On to July and a new month of images.

One thought on “JUNETWELVEONTWELVE

Leave a Reply

