reaching way back

for today’s photo…

in cegep ( post high school/ preuniversity schooling in canada ), i discovered the joys of the darkroom.
i joined the newspaper, followed cool indie bands and danced till late in the night at the thunderdome.

this photo, taken for a photography project i did in 1987 reminds me of all the fun of those years. i never knew this guy’s name, but he was dating my friend sandy, pictured here, and was just TCFW. seriously;).

i entered a contest today, from photography concentrate ( go enter, it is a good one! and these guys are unbelievable photographers with an awesome attitude about…everything!), and you need to answer “why” you are a photographer for part of the contest.
kind of a very hard question for me to answer.

but then it hit me, part of the reason i adore photography is that it allows me to remember all the people i have loved in my life.
when i photograph someone, i get to keep a part of them, always.
stealing souls? maybe. but in a good way. i promise. 

i have not seen sandy in years. like forever.
but having this photo around just brings that time of my life rushing right back to me.
i even like remembering the crappy stuff, like when sandy’s friend…well, it involves somone presently on my facebook, so i will stop there ( lolol ).

i am in a super reminiscing mood this week as i work my way through my files, cleaning as i go. this photo is actually a scan as i can no longer find the original negatives. that makes me very sad…

so an oldie for my photograph of the day. a true old school photograph, taken and developed by me a frighteningly long time ago, for the august break 2010.
it was shot with my minolta XD-11.
a camera i truly need to get back to working order.

and go enter that contest! and check out rob and lauren, the photographers behind photography concentrate…they are pretty amazing.

One thought on “reaching way back

  1. C. Knack says:

    I adore looking at old photos, remembering people who have come and gone from my life (for better or worse). It is our history after all.Love this photo and I believe we were doing very similar things in 1987!

    Like

Leave a Reply

